Where are you at the end of your day?

Not in the physical sense as in, are you in your bedroom or soaking in the tub.

No, where is your mind at the end of your day?

Is it at peace, sated from a goodly stretch of the imagination? Are you edging closer, wanting to reach out for just a little bit more? Or do you feel hollow  hearing echoes in the tunnel?

I cannot fathom where I have put my mind?
Have I hidden it somewhere and forgotten the pathways back?

Did I drop it down a sewer grating like my precious nickel at six.

Tripping on my own feet and watching it disappear out of sight or walking along, curb, sidewalk, up and down, curb, sidewalk, up, down, spot a shinny quarter.

Put gum on the end of a stick. The kid down the block playing stickball, big kids don’t let him hit. So he brought his broom handle and we chewed his smashed Double-Bubble.

I remember it felt good. The heat of the concrete against my belly. The sound of his breating in my ear. We never could get the damn thing.

It was fun for a while thinking how great it would be, to have a whole bright silver quarter all to myself.

#####################

Allow me, if you will, to give you something extraordinary to wrap your mind around at the end of the day …

Gwendolyn Elizabeth Brooks

 To be in love
Is to touch with a lighter hand.
In yourself you stretch, you are well.
You look at things
Through his eyes.
A cardinal is red.
A sky is blue.
Suddenly you know he knows too.
He is not there but
You know you are tasting together
The winter, or a light spring weather.
His hand to take your hand is overmuch.
Too much to bear.
You cannot look in his eyes
Because your pulse must not say
What must not be said.
When he
Shuts a door-
Is not there_
Your arms are water.
And you are free
With a ghastly freedom.
You are the beautiful half
Of a golden hurt.
You remember and covet his mouth
To touch, to whisper on.
Oh when to declare
Is certain Death!
Oh when to apprize
Is to mesmerize,
To see fall down, the Column of Gold,
Into the commonest ash.

 After her, there is
Nothing left to say.

fOIS In The City

4 Comments

Filed under Poetry Wednesday

4 responses to “Where are you at the end of your day?

  1. christicorbett

    Ramblings,
    Not sure if I ever did because things have been so crazy at my house these past two weeks, but I wanted to thank you for putting me up on your link list.

    I really appreciate it, (and if you could help me figure out how, I’d love to build one and have you on mine :))

    Christi
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Easy actually. The same as the “clouds” … go to Widgets on the left side of “Edit your Profile” … I believe it is under “appearance”

      You can add links as “link” or as a blog …

      You copy and paste the web address and then select either link or blog and press add …

      You can do that with the authors you list on your author page and other people you read on web sites or blogs that you would like to pass on to others.

      Good luck and let me know if you figure it out.
      I enjoy reading you every day and I look forward to “hearing” from your husband.

      The pal who works with me is my daughter and you can “see” her on the blog link that says “pieces of me”

      She’s a good photographer and she has done most of my setting up with cyber-space stuff like My Space and Facebook. GRanted that is not my thing, but it was fun for a while.

      The Blog is perfect for me because I can put in pieces of my work in either a post or in Snippets.

      Good luck and keep writing.
      Florence

      Like

Leave a Reply

