I ask myself …

Where did it all come from?

I am sure there are dozens … okay … maybe even hundreds of people who would swear on their grandmother’s bloomers I have not always been as funny as … Oh let’s say … that proverbial barrel of monkeys.

And sorry to say, they would be right.

Alas, my lads and lassies, I am the Monkey child, born on the cusp of Virgo and Libra, tittering on the brink of purposefulness and mischief, determination and indecision … the monkey in the middle who fought to catch the ball and win the game.

Still the laughter has never left me. In my darkest hours, it was there trying to poke or prod a giggle or two to bring me back to myself.

It is for this reason, I am in love with comedy and comedians and for the purpose of today’s post … female comedians.

Hail those who write of the lovable antics and amazingly neurotic families depicted in sitcoms. One of my personal favorites is Gail Parent, a television and screenwriter, producer and author. She has written for The Mary Tyler Moore ShowThe Carol Burnett Show, Golden Girls and dozens of other sitcoms.

Gail Parent was one of the creators of the sincerely clueless, Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman and, is also the author of Sheila Levine is Dead and Living in New York. 

So many of our funniest, like Fanny Brice, came from the ranks of Vaudeville, the Orpheum Circuit, the endless tours and thousands of performances to get to the Great White Way, the big screen and television.

Who could forget the bawdy and daring Mae West, actress, playwright and screenwriter. She feared no one and blazed a trail for thousands to follow. West is one of the performers cited as the reason Hollywood began censoring movie dialogue. Knowing it is impossible to name each of these talented pioneers we fast forward from the late 1800’s to the mid 1900’s.

I begin in the 1960,’s with women like Madeline Kahn, Carol Burnett, Whoopie Goldberg, Lily Tomlin, Goldie Hawn, Carole Kane, Ellen DeGeneres, Tina Fey and dozens of others, both young and not so young.

Each is these video clips from youtube.com offers you a selection of alternate short clips you can watch. Enjoy them all.

May I present to you, the incomparable Madeline Kahn.

How does one describe or explain the delightful comedy of Goldie Hawn? A powerhouse, dancer, comic, dramatic actress and producer. While Rowan and Martin’s Laugh In was not the first time she performed in front of a camera, it was certainly one of the most memorable.

This might be a good time to remind you of the romantic comedy. Each time the girl who started out as the plump loser comes to the end of the day winning the heart of the handsome lover, women everywhere cry and laugh. In darkened movie theatres, in the quiet of their bedrooms or in the middle of the kitchen while fixing dinner … they smile and shed a tear, because when the damsel in baggy pants succeeds, we do as well.

Saving the best for last. For the truly insane and the purists among you, please enjoy if you will the classic:

Life is too short for long
Underwear and longer faces, so
Laugh it up with,

fOIS

3 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

3 responses to “I ask myself …

  1. christicorbett

    I loved Madeline Kahn. She had such a straight face while delivering the funniest lines. I especially loved her in one of my favorite movies “Clue”

    Thanks for the excerpts. A perfect way to start the week!

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for leaving the nice comment on my blog about Roni and Julie’s Totally Epic summer contest! I’d love to do an interview anytime!

    Like

  3. PK Hrezo

    Great clips from some comedic geniuses! Such clever women! Carol Burnett is my all time fave. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

