The journey continues …

I look down the long road ahead and try to imagine the wonders this new year will bring.

Many people make resolutions during this time. I have long since given up on resolutions. They remind me too much of the “Monday Diet.”

 

You know the one you will go on right after you scoff down another pound of pasta during Sunday dinner? Have that second piece of cake. After tomorrow no more cake.

Success they tell us is doing it all in moderation. Oh, please. I’m Italian and we do nothing in moderation. We talk faster, louder, use more hand signals than people who “sign” and we never, ever leave food on our plates. After all, what I left on my plate could feed an army, and would help starving minions all over the planet.

I think I’ll have the second piece of cake and forego resolutions for the rest of my life.

If you are so inclined, you can use astrology to ferret out the future and how your “sign” will fair on different days, months and this new year. Here you have new and old moons, advice as to when to cut or wash your hair, when is the best time for travel to strange new lands, or when the heck am I going to be published.

Alas, promises of good behavior or predictions of my unknown future are not part of my belief system.

I am however, a compulsive list writer. I make them for my daily activities, the week in review and fill in squares on my monthly planner. Were I to fill my little squares for the new year of 2011, I might put in the proposed title of my WIP. I have a list of one hundred agents who have a proclivity towards the genre of said WIP.

I pencil in the names of agents, the title of one or two books and I leave squares open for rejection, rewrite, revision and the dreaded query. The query, in case you didn’t know, seems to have a life of its own, that may not have anything  to do with the book.

Other empty little squares are reserved for a few quips here at Ramblings, testing the waters of a new idea, and dusting off an old one.

I will in this new year continue to visit my favorite blog sites and leave comments, bring you interesting aspiring, and published authors,  and blog guests.

Take a deep breath and prepare yourself for another adventure and by all means …

Stay tuned to …

fOIS In The City

7 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

7 responses to “The journey continues …

  1. christicorbett

    I too am a Italian list maker with nary a resolution in sight!

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. I’m a list maker, I don’t make resolutions, and I had an Italian grandfather. Does that count? 😉

    Like

  3. Oh, yes–queries do have a life of their own. And sometimes they can be complete brats.

    I don’t do resolutions any more either. Except the one Catherine Ryan Hyde suggested–to let myself be happy.

    Like

  4. and your daughter is a list maker who forgets her lists, haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

