Great beginnings …

Glad to be back !

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here are two openings worth repeating …
and a classic for you to identify.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 A BAD DAY FOR SORRY
Sophie Littlefield

Stella Hardesty dispatched her abusive husband with a wrench shortly before her fiftieth birthday. Now she’s juggling her sewing machine shop and a series of clients seeking help with their own problem husbands while fighting a powerful attraction to the local Sheriff.

A Bad Day for Sorry: A Crime Novel

THE BRIDE WILL KEEP HER NAME
Jan Goldstein

Be careful what you wish for.
These six little seeds of warning were long ago generously planted and watered in my unconscious by the inimitable Melanie Mandelbaum, a fifty-eight-year-old executive buyer for Bergdorf’s, affectionately known to my father and to me, her daughter, as the buzzkiller of Long Island.

The Bride Will Keep Her Name

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Can anyone tell me the name of
the book this opening comes from?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you really want to hear about it, the first thing you’ll probably want to know is where I was born, and what my lousy childhood was like, and how my parents were occupied and all before they had me, and all that David Copperfield kind of crap, but I don’t feel like going into it, if you want to know the truth.

fOIS In The City

5 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

5 responses to “Great beginnings …

  1. DM

    I have no clue where that beginning is from. What’s the answer?

    Like

  2. I’ve just bought the Sophie Littlefield book this week. Gotta love a book with a heroine over 40!

    Great openings. Don’t recognize the third, although I may have read it sometime.

    Like

  3. Those are great openings! But I can’t identify the classic. Hope you’re doing well, Florence. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

