Security blanket …

Is this one of those days? You know the ones, the days when you feel like Atlas has nothing on you and your poor aching shoulders? One of those days when you are happy to wallow, and roll in the muck and mire of your life?

Yup, that’s the kind of day this has been for me, a day when I feel like taking out a few balls of yarn and making a security blanket.

Oh, didn’t I say? No, I guess I was too busy wallowing. Yes, I crochet in single and double, and wonderful intricate patterns in multiple colors of yarns.

If I am going to make a security blanket for myself and not just a gift for a friend, I might want to sort all my hanks and balls and line up my pretty fabric storage boxes and decide on a plan of action, the size of the hook and the thickness of the yarn and …

I might start with a pale baby blue, the lightest shade of baby blue and line it up with another shade of blue, just a tad darker and between them, I might put a light ivory. Since this is for my security, I think it might be better to use three or four colors and perhaps even two or three shades of each color.

What would you think of blue, yellow, pink and ivory? In case I get strung out and tired half way through I can always convert it for a baby blanket. Keep the colors soft and easy to cuddle.

I don’t like to cuddle with bright colors, although I love to weave different bright colors with muted shades and get that wonderful marble effect of double and single lines and …

I know. I’ll end it with a double row of crocheted ruffles, soft and wide and trimmed in the last color … let me see. Would you put the lighter shade or the darkest shade as the last?

Practically speaking, putting a darker, or a stronger color on the edge will wear better. A security blanket for a writer will get a great deal of wear and care and the darker shade at the edge will not soil as easily.

You could always think of the stronger color at the end as the color that can take the most abuse and still look great. After a few cuddles and a few restless nights, you can tumble wash and pat, pat, towel, air dry, shake lightly, and let the sun warm the yarn and start over again.

And because I am in the muck and mire of it all, I can’t decide how to end. I like the ruffle idea and I could always play with that. Ruffle my feathers perhaps? Tuck in all the loose ends? Tie off the last stitch and remember …

Tomorrow is another chance to flip over and have a great day.

fOIS In The City

Charlie here
Ruffled feathers

10 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

10 responses to “Security blanket …

  1. I can’t think of anything better to balance the precarious craziness of the writing life than crocheting security blankets! Yours sound lovely. I crocheted a bit, a thousand years ago. I wonder if my fingers would remember how?

    Like

  2. I’m sorry you had a “muck and mire” kind of day. Crocheting could be a good stress reliever. I’m a fan of a Calgon-scented soak with water hot enough to melt away one’s cares. I hope you’re spirits are lifted soon.

    Like

    • Keli, I love your way because it doubles as an escape and a relaxer 🙂

      My spirits were lifted early this morning when I woke to a bright, sunny day … However, the post gave my daughter an idea that I should start selling my scarfs since she gets so many compliments on the ones I have done for her …

      So my therapy could make me some loose change 🙂

      Like

  3. DM

    I have days like this too. Sometimes those crochet projects are the best – quiet days, crocehting away. Do the ruffles. Me? I like big soft afghans that are warm.

    Like

    • Donna, I love the ruffles at the edge … especially when I’m doing a baby blanket. I also make a matching pillow case that is also bordered in ruffles …

      Thanks for sharing … these are the days when we need company 🙂

      Like

  4. christicorbett

    Florence,

    My mom taught me one basic “stitch” using a croquet hook when I was a child.

    Fast forward several years…I had gotten my first “real job” fresh out of college. And while it was the job of my dreams, it was located several states away. So I lived all alone, with no family or friends to fill my evenings or weekends.

    During this period of my life, I churned out three huge blankets using that one simple stitch and one color of yarn. I still have them today and when I see one it reminds me of the time I learned to be alone with myself.

    I’ve always admired the ones who’ve mastered the art of using patterns, several colors, and advanced “stitches”.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Aw, that is so sweet, Christi. It brings tears to my eyes because I think of my little girl (not to little anymore) and how she is doing in NYC with both me and her brother elsewhere.

      The one stitch is all you needed. The best part was, it created memories that will last forever.

      My daughter writing me about selling my scarfs (she always gets lots of compliments on the ones I make for her) is what got me started on that vein again.

      I love that it was the time you learned to be alone with yourself. Sometimes no matter how many people we are with that becomes are best strength.

      Like

  5. laradunning

    While reading your post this popped into my head. “The sun will come out tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow, they’ll be sun.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

