You might ask yourself … what?

What is a meme?  Meme is for memory, which is also for mimic, which is part and parcel to life in cyber space, the phenon of the blog fest, the rolling thunder of tweet and retweet and the inner workings of how something becomes “meme.”

Dawkins defined the meme as a unit of cultural transmission, or a unit of imitation and replication, but later definitions would vary. Memes, analogously to genes, vary in their aptitude to replicate; memes which are good at getting themselves copied tend to spread and remain, whereas the less good ones have a higher probability of being ignored and forgotten. Thus “better” memes are selected. The lack of a consistent, rigorous, and precise understanding of what typically makes up one unit of cultural transmission remains a problem in debates about memetics. In contrast, the concept of genetics gained concrete evidence with the discovery of the biological functions of DNA. In the context of the natural or life sciences, memetics suffers in comparison because, unlike the idea of genes, memes do not necessarily have or need a concrete medium in order to transfer.

Most recently, meme has been identified with certain blogfests, or as my good friend Christi Corbett relays … a type of verbal challenge we meet and send forward to three others. Monica Gudlewski, a new blogger, tagged Christi in a meme going around the blog-o-sphere. See Christi’s answers and yet another cool definition of “meme” here.

I am one of three chosen by Christi, and after I am finished, my goal is to send to three others. The end results are to have this and others of the same function go viral and begin to take on a life of their own. We shall see, shall we?

Thanks Christi, I was not sure what I would do today. My City Scapes next post is not ready, I have to coordinate someone for Silent Friday and well … this is a great opportunity to have a different type of fun.

The object is for me to answer some questions about myself:

If you could go back in time and relive one moment, what would it be?

The last time all of my family were together for a Christmas dinner.

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?

I believe every moment has brought me to the moment I am living now. Changing any of them would chance where I am and then you might not have the pleasure of my company. I’ll keep all the moments I’ve lived.

What movie/TV character do you most resemble in personality?

That is very easy … Aurora Greenway from Terms of Endearment and this is why …

If you could push one person off a cliff and get away with it, who would it be?

I gave Monica and Christi my answer in my comments. If we could be like the kid in Twilight Zone, The Movie, I’d run down a few pedestrians, throw one or two pests over the cliff and then like Road Runner, I’d keep on running. Otherwise, I’ll pass. Violence is serious karma.

Name one habit you want to change in yourself.

Impossible, I am one great big habit. A combo of COD meets ADHD that crash lands into RLS.

Describe yourself in one word.

Funny

Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.

Delightful.

Why do you blog? Answer in one sentence.

I love talking and meeting people and blogging allows me to meet and learn about people I’d never get to do any other way.
Name at least 3 people to send this meme to, and then inform them.

PK Hrezo because she does these things all the time.

Mariella Hunt Mariella just found me like Monica and I am enjoying getting to know them both.  Check out her blog.

Lara Dunning Because she has introduced me to a new type of story and that is the best thing anyone can do for us.

fOIS In The City

Meme cat pic.

8 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

8 responses to “You might ask yourself … what?

  1. christicorbett

    This was fun! I’m glad to get to know you even more through your answers…and I LOVE the movie Terms of Endearment”.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Those are tough questions!! But I’m all over it! These are fun. I’ll have to get to work now…. loved your answers. 🙂

    Like

  3. Monica

    You’re a super memer! By the way, I guess you didn’t notice that I tagged you for this meme last week, too, via twitter. Next time I’ll send the tag certified mail! 🙂

    I really liked your answer to the habit question.

    Like

  4. Thanks, I enjoyed doing this! 🙂 The questions are hard, I didn’t even have any real answers to them…I’ll have to try again in a few months, lol!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Tweet, Retweet and TweetMeme « A Writer's Blog

Leave a Reply

