Angel time …

Angel of God, my guardian dear,
to whom God’s love commits me here,
ever this day be at my side,
to light and guard, to rule and guide

From: Ann Rice, Angel Time

The book Angel Time, from the series The Songs of the Seraphim, is the story of a lost soul and his redemtion. Like so many of Ann Rice’s books, it disturbs and calls our attention to the underbelly of life and the eternal struggle of good and evil. I cried reading the story of the gentle boy, Toby O’Dare, who grew to be a cold-hearted, paid assassin.

How do we develop into the full blow adult versions of who we are today? How does the kid who believed in fairy tales and makes wishes on stars, become a bitter adult? Where does innocence go when it dies? Like our soul, does it rise up to a greater or better place, or does it remain, dead within the child and decay slowly with age?

The real world usually does not give us the extreme choices of good or evil. Our lives are mostly made up of gray moments that cast a shadow of doubt or bright times that light up a corner of our mind.

I believe mostly in the good of people.

I have dozens of books and heard the countless stories about angels, ghosts and the hereafter. I am a great fan of Shirley Maclaine, read Brian Wise, and still I had never put a white light around my house, car or another other object so the angels could protect and guide.

I would not talk to angels or the dearly departed, probably because I was convinced, they might talk back to me.

Because of this, my angels or my spirit guide became weary waiting for me to wake up and hit me in the back of the head one afternoon. Minding my own business, I believe I was directed to go to a certain article on the internet and from there, a new focus was born with one of my books.

Today, I wanted to thank my angels, misfits that they probably are, for keeping me on track during a difficult and unwanted vacation from myself. Also, for redirecting my creative juices.

Now, if one of you could kindly move your butt and get us published, I’d be most grateful.

What about you? Do you have a guardian angel, a misfit angel or do you think … as I did for so long … that you “wing” it alone?

fOIS In The City

(1) Hanging on the moon  (2) Funny angel
7 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

7 responses to “Angel time …

  1. christicorbett

    I have a great support system of “real life” angels…family, friends, and online writers who have become friends (you, for example) that keep me going.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. christicorbett

    However, that’s not to say there aren’t some angels somewhere helping the process along 😀

    Christi Corbett

    Like

  3. laradunning

    I’ve never really thought about that to much. So I guess I would say I wing it alone, but now that I’m thinking of it, it would be nice to have someone watching over me.

    Like

    • I guess it’s like the old song say … “I’m a little lamb whose lost in the woods …” That’s from Someone to Watch Over Me … sentimental as all get-out.

      Otherwise, I imagine we all wing it 🙂

      Like

  4. DM

    I don’t believe in winging it. I have an army around me and I thank each one every day. I’ve always known we are watched over and cared for. I’ve ‘seen’. Angels are amazing, full of unconditional eternal immortal accepting love. Yep. I believe.
    This book has perked my interest. I like Ann Rice, so I’ll have to get this and read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

