Not just another day …

Today is the eve of the most popular American holidays, Thanksgiving. And yes, it’s not just another day. It’s a chance to balance the scales.

Thanks for this picture.

I would like to give thanks to those I love, who have touched my life and made my world a better place to live. Of course, I would have to start with my nuclear family, my composite family, my first grade school teachers, all but two of my colleges professors … well you do get the point.

If you are in my life, you know who you are and you know I love you and thank my Higher Power for you.

Purchase here.

Give thanks to Jessie Wilcox Smith for this amazing print.

Print credit here.

Give thanks for those who break bread and share our joy. Take a few moments to remember those who are no longer sitting at the table. Immortality is remembering their smiles.

Thanks for the books we read. Each time we hold them in our hands, or view them on our modern device, think of the person whose love and labor brought you the wonder of new worlds and fantastic tales. Embrace them, they are a gift.

Thanks for the games we play. From the checker boards to the computer screen, from the soccer field to the backyard.

Play as hard as you work.

Artist credit here.

Thank you for this day and for every day.

A special thanks to the cooks, the football fans, the kids under foot. Enjoy those crazy times because they only come around once. Once the wonder of her first smile, his first baby tooth, once for that magic moment when babe in arms, grandma sits alone in the living room, rocking and remembering. One time when they believe your far-fetched tale, one time to capture that six-year-old toothy grin.

I wish each of you and your loved ones a peaceful and joyous Thanksgiving Day.

fOIS In The City

There you have it. One of my slightly altered holiday archives. Starting, Wednesday, November 28, you will be treated to a selection of five holiday posts from my archives.

A Note:

Yes,Β graphics and photographyare reprinted. However,Β I do not advertise,Β  nor do I profit from the use of old or new graphic art. Credit is given and if offense is taken … remember … it’s a time to be jolly … to be of good cheer.

30 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

30 responses to “Not just another day …

  1. Have a lovely day Florence πŸ™‚

    I wish we celebrated it here in the UK.

    Xx

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Florence. I’m thankful for all the writers I’ve met online. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Take a few moments to remember those who are no longer sitting at the table. Immortality is remembering their smiles.

    The entire post was so poignant, Florence, but the above really touched me.
    Thank YOU! for your friendship, and inbominable spirit. You inspire me.

    Like

  4. vicki batman

    Happy, Thanksgiving, Florence. You are a treasure.

    Like

  5. Have a happy, blessed Thanksgiving, Florence. Your words brought many smiles of thanks and gratitude.

    Like

  6. You wrote: “think of the person whose love and labor brought you the wonder of new worlds and fantastic tales” referring to books. Do you know I’ve never thought of this before? How dumb is that? I am so thankful for all those authors out there who have made my life so much more fulfilled and happy because of the books I’ve read.

    Like

    • Yes, Patti. Those books we cherish and read with glee, take us away from the every-day blahs to another place and time. I am thankful for every writer who touches mine and other hearts. Have a Blessed Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. HaPPy*THanksgiviNG!!! I hope everyone takes at least this one day out of the year to give thanks to God for the stuff we have, rather than going to the stores at 7pm to get more stuff that we’ll forget about in a few months anyway. I’m blessed with such wonderful blogging buddies like you:-)

    Like

    • Jamie … I love your thoughts about “stuff” and being thankful for what we have. It is a gift to enjoy our loved ones, break bread and remember how much we have. I too am blessed to have found wonderful friends like you out here in the blogesphire πŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours !!

      Like

  8. annerallen

    Have a peaceful and joyful holiday, Florence! And Jamie, I second the motion. It’s a day to stay home with family and friends–or even all alone with a Cornish game hen and a fantastic book–and be thankful for what we HAVE, not to rush out in a frenzy to get more. Shop Saturday,and shop LOCAL..

    Like

    • So true, Anne … we forget to embrace those incredible solitary moments of joy in our life. I for one, will not join the crazed millions pushing at the doors of retail stores. Also, I am a crafter at heart and make many gifts during the entire year. It keeps the Holidays in my heart for twelve and not just one month πŸ™‚ Have a great day !!

      Like

  9. Canadian Thanksgiving is in October. I feel fortunate that, with so many American friends, I get to celebrate twice. Happy Thanksgiving, Florence.

    Like

    • Sherry, it was fun to celebrate Thanksgiving earlier with my Canadian friends and am happy you will also share our turkey day. Thanks for Nancy, thanks for being you and most of all, thanks for all the joy you share with so many of us πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Happy Thanksgiving, Florence!

    Like

  11. Florence,

    May you have the best of the holiday and take the time to enjoy what you are thankful for.

    Like

  12. Happy Thanksgiving, Florence. Although it means more work for you, I hope you get to enjoy it in your new home! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Sheila … the work is a labor of love. But not in my new home. I will be with my Florida family at their home and the work is shared. Good thoughts to you on this day and hope you and your family have a grand and Happy Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. Another beautiful and heartfelt post. I love the amazing graphics and your words treat me one after another as if floating across a cloudless sky. Thanks for being you. I’m looking forward to your holiday posts.

    Like

    • Aw Sheri … we old broads have so much to be thankful for … hindsight … the ability to capture memories like trinkets in a treasure box and the love we can share with so many. I am grateful to have you as a friend. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours πŸ™‚

      Like

  14. Happy Thanksgiving, Florence.

    Like

  15. christicorbett

    A wonderful post! Hope your Thanksgiving was a great one!

    Christi Corbett

    Like

Leave a Reply

