A Book Launch …

A Book Launch …

I am priviledged to announce that my very first blog buddy, Christi Corbett, has published her debut novel, Along The Way Home through Astraea Press and today is the launch of that book.

You can buy Christi’s book by connecting to these links at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Astraea Press, her publisher.

##########

First, I’d like to give a big thank you to Florence for allowing me to host her blog. I truly appreciate her sharing her readers with me as I celebrate the release of my debut novel, Along the Way Home, a Sweet Historical Romance set on the 1843 Oregon Trail.

It released in ebook format, today, June 11, 2013 and will be available in print July of 2013. It is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Astraea Press (my publisher) and several other retailers.

I’m giving away an Oregon Trail themed prize package to one lucky commenter, so be sure to answer the question at the end of the post.

* * * *

I sat for a long time trying to figure out how to begin this post. Made several trips across the page, then hit delete and gobbled it all up again.

Because sometimes there just aren’t words. Yes, I’m a writer and I should be able to capture a feeling with literary beauty, but for this I can’t.

It’s impossible to describe how much Florence has meant to me during my journey to publication. We’ve shared phone calls, talking about everything imaginable. She’s been there for nearly every blog post I’ve ever made and left a comment on almost every post. (To be honest, there were a good many posts where she was my only visitor)

I’m a huge fan of quotes, so much so that I feature one every Friday on my blog. I’d like to share one with you now…

A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles. (Tim Cahill)

It took me thirteen years to drag my debut novel over the publication finish line. There were times where I honestly didn’t think I’d make it, but what kept me going were the writing friendships I’d developed. Most of all, a woman I’m proud to call my friend, Florence Fois.

alongthewayhome-christicorbett-453x680

They lost everything but their dreams on the Oregon Trail…

Kate Davis is intrigued when her father reveals his dream of starting a horse ranch in OregonTerritory. Settlers out west value a strong woman, and though she manages the financials of her father’s mercantile her competence earns her ridicule, not respect, from Virginia’s elite society. 

Jake Fitzpatrick, an experienced trail guide, wants land out west to raise cattle and crops. But dreams require money and he’s eating dandelion greens for dinner. So when a wealthy businessman offers double wages to guide his family across the Oregon Trail, Jake accepts with one stipulation—he is in complete control.

Departure day finds Kate clinging to her possessions as Jake demands she abandon all he deems frivolous, including her deceased mother’s heirlooms. Jake stands firm, refusing to let the whims of a headstrong woman jeopardize the wages he so desperately needs—even a beautiful one with fiery green eyes and a temper to match.

Trail life is a battle of wills between them until tragedy strikes, leaving Jake with an honor-bound promise to protect her from harm and Kate with a monumental choice—go back to everything she’s ever known or toward everything she’s ever wanted?

Advance Praise for Along the Way Home

…author Christi Corbett unfurls an unforgettable epic romance inside of an epic Western adventure. Beautifully crafted, this debut novel is a tender journey of the heart as well as a treacherous journey of many miles.  Eve Paludan, author of Taking Back Tara (Ranch Lovers Romance series) 

A breathtaking account of courage and adventure along the Oregon Trail. Jillian Kent, author of The Ravensmoore Chronicles. 

A dash of action! A touch of intrigue! Loads of sweet, clean romantic promise … Reid Lance Rosenthal, Winner of 15 National Awards, #1 Best Selling Author of the Threads West, An American Saga series.

 

 About Christi …

ChristiCorbettPictureforBio

I’m addicted to coffee, sticky notes, and the Oxford Comma. I live in a small town in Oregon with my husband and our twins. Our home’s location is especially inspiring because the view from the back door is a hill travelers looked upon years ago as they explored the OregonTerritory and beyond.

When I’m not writing I love chatting with readers and writers alike. You can find me in one of the following locations:

Email: christicorbett@gmail.com
Blog: http://christicorbett.wordpress
Twitter: @ChristiCorbett
Facebook: Christi Corbett—Author

How about you?

How have your friends and family

been supportive of your writing career?

fOIS In The City

Note:

I alluded to a bit of good news in one of my comments last week. Christi picked up on it and was delighted. Oooo … do I have news about “that” which all of us dream? Ah …have I finally been recognized as the novel-genius I am?

Maybe. Maybe not. However, I toyed for months with the idea of creating blog subscriptions. Wrote to my entire mailing list for persmission and feedback. In the end, I’ve decided I like my blog the way it is. Like it so much I might have some very important news in the next few weeks.

BUT … you will have to wait for the next edition of Ramblings sometime in July. Can anyone guess what mischief I might be up to this time?

36 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

36 responses to “A Book Launch …

  1. Love your logline, Christi! As a fellow Western author (though contemporary,) I’ll have to pick yours up! Ain’t Florence the best?!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Laura,

      I’ve been to your blog (found through Florence of course, she’s the greatest!) and loved your motorcycle picture. I’ve seen you around the blog–sphere and am excited to see you write Westerns too.

      The logline was inspired by the storyline, which in turn was inspired from the reality that so many people had to leave their beloved possessions trailside in order to continue on. My research found that oftentimes at the base of steep hills or on the top of riverbanks there would be piles of furniture, china sets, and other comforts of home. And they had to abandon it all because the oxen/horses/mules were bone tired.

      The trail was full of tough choices, and the characters in Along the Way Home learn this lesson and so much more.

      Thank you so much for your kind words!

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  2. Hi Christi, I am also Florence’s fan. 🙂

    I’m excited for you and your new release. That is a fantastic cover and will lead readers to read your blurb. It sounds like a great book. I wish you tons of sales and success!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Brinda,

      She’s the best! We were both floundering newbies years ago with our blogs and it’s been so fun to see how her blog has evolved into what it is now…a must read! And her short stories inspired by those writing prompts? I always make sure I’ve got a fresh cup of coffee before I sit down to read those because I know I’m in for a fantastic read.

      I’m thrilled to hear you liked the cover! My female lead is a prim society woman at the beginning of the journey, but by the end, well, the cover provides a nice hint 🙂

      Thank you for commenting!

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  3. Today, I’m also leaving a comment. Christi, thanks for your kind words. I looked back yesterday and saw that there were dozens of posts where you were also my only comment 🙂

    That is the basis for our friedship, mutual respect and support. I am thrilled to host you here today 🙂

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Florence,

      I teared up when I wrote the post, and then again just now when I re-read it.

      Yep, I’m a big sap! Thank you SO MUCH for your support, and for sharing your blog and your readers with me today!

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  4. Christi’s book sounds awesome! And Florence, you really have me wondering what mischief you’re up to now!!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Jamie,

      Florence is always busy with something, isn’t she 😀

      Have you seen her Etsy site? Lots of great stuff over there (I’m partial to that glass fish myself)

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  5. I wouldn’t want to be on this writing journey without the support of the women in my online writing groups. It’s such an uphill battle that my online friends make a difference in how I feel and where I go on this journey. And you’re really lucky, Christi, to have Florence beside you. I’ve found her an inimitable pal.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Patricia,

      There’s been plenty of times when Florence cheered me up when I was down. Publishing is definitely an uphill battle and I’m so happy to have the supportive friendships I’ve found in fellow bloggers.

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  6. Vicki Batman

    Hi, Florence! If you’re up to mischief, I’m with you. And Christi, congratulations on your book. You are so lucky to have Florence in your corner.

    I’ve been lucky to have lots of supportive pals from many walks of life, writing groups, friends, family.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Vicki,

      Another fellow mischief lover…yay!

      What type of writing groups do you belong to? Are they critique groups?

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  7. Pingback: Along the Way Home Blog Tour! | Christi Corbett's Blog

  8. annerallen

    Congrats on the debut of your Western Romance, Christi! It sounds intriguing and inspiring.

    Florence, I’m glad you like your blog the way it is. I do too. I’ll be waiting for that big announcement!

    Networking is what it’s all about in the book biz these days, and you two have networking down!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Anne,

      I’m waiting for her big announcement too! I can hardly wait to shout to the world that Florence is publishing…she writes so beautifully it would be lovely if more people could read her work.

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  9. Congratulations, Christi! I don’t know where I’d be without my friends, but it would not be on this side of sane.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Sherry,

      I teeter on the edge most days, but my family and friends always pull me back when I need it 🙂

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  10. Christi and Florence – What terrific news Christi. Your storyline is intriguing and it never ceases to amaze me what settlers were required to sacrifice both in the name of living their dreams and mere survival.
    Florence is a terrific friend to have and the two of you have been through it all together.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Sheri,

      During the research phase it was amazing to discover all the beautiful things people of wagon trains had to leave trailside. Silver tea sets, china sets, dressers, rocking chairs, linens, etc… Everything they’d brought along to make their new location feel like a home.

      That stuck with me, so you can imagine some of the things my characters go through in Along the Way Home 😀

      Christi Corbett

      Like

  11. Christi, congratulations on your debut! Readers are clamouring for “sweet” reads and your story sounds so wonderful I love western historicals, so I’m excited to read your story.

    Florence, I’m looking forward to your news in July. You’re such a tease, but I guess we’ll just have to wait. 🙂 Thanks for the introduction to Christi!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Sheila,

      I’ve heard for about two years now how readers are objecting to all the detail that is going into romance novels, and how Sweet/Clean romance is making a big comeback.

      Funny story, I was rejected by an agent who liked my storyline, characters, writing style, etc… but ended with this, “…let your characters engage in sex and describe the sex. As it stands, I’ll pass. Put the sex in and I’ll take another look.”

      That was frustrating, but ultimately it led me to find my publisher, Astraea Press, who only publishes sweet/clean reads so it ended up being a blessing in disguise 🙂

      Thanks for your comment and I hope you enjoy Along the Way Home!

      Christi

      Like

  12. Christi & Florence,

    You aren’t alone in your long journey to publication. Many of us have waited and worked and written for years before it happened. That just makes us appreciate the actual publication of the first book even more.

    Florence,

    Sounds like you’re taking a bit of a vacation. Good for you. Can’t wait for your news.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Casey,

      One of my writing mentors, Kaki Warner, took nearly 25 years to publish her first book, and now she’s on her fourth three book deal with her publisher and she’s won countless awards for her books (Historical Western Romance)

      I took 13 years to get mine across the publishing finish line, and along the way I learned so much and made such great friends (like Florence!) that it was worth every start and stop.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Christi

      Like

  13. Writers are the only way I keep faith in my ability to finish my novel and move on to that much coveted published status. Well-deserved Congratulations(!) on your recent release. The book sounds amazing.

    [Pause for Kazoo Trill.]

    Florence? Oh-my-gosh, I can’t say enough kind words about her talent, words of encouragement, and regular blog visits from the get-go.

    I have no clue what surprise lurks for us in July. But, I know I’ll love it; whatever it is.

    Besides, were I inclined to hazard a guess, I’d make up something totally outrageous and attach a triple-dog-dare to it.

    I’m an active member in AA –Five years on June 29th! — the club nobody aspires to join but everyone becomes grateful for long-term membership. One of the sayings in the rooms is, “It takes an alcoholic to understand one.”

    IMHO, that same principle applies to writers. The gestation period for your baby gives me hope for my own. Thank you for that.

    And, Florence? My decision to forego the triple-dog-dare guess? You’re welcome.

    Like

  14. Carolyn Dekat

    Ooh, sounds like my kind of book! And your post is encouraging and inspiring. I have some “dragging” to do with a manuscript of my own that is several years old…..

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Carolyn,

      I’m a perfect example of what happens when you never give up on your dreams. I wish you all the best with your manuscript, it took me 13 years to go from idea to contract so I consider yours just a toddler 🙂

      Thanks for your kind comment!

      Christi

      Like

  15. christicorbett

    Gloria,

    Thanks so much for your kind words, and especially for managing to sneak in a Kazoo sound effect 🙂

    Christi Corbett

    Like

  16. Congratulations, Christi. I’m SO thrilled for you.

    Sometimes the journey is long, but it’s always worth it in the end. I wrote for many years before I had a book published. It was nice having my work published in literary magazines, but it can’t compare to the thrill of having an entire book with your name on it, knowing that each and every word is our own. I’ve been very fortunate to have supportive family and friends. Where would we writers be without them? Florence is great. You’re lucky to have her for a friend. Best of luck!

    Like

    • christicorbett

      Laura,

      You’ve been a great support over the years too, I’ll never forget chatting about book trailers with you so long ago! 😀

      Christi

      Like

  17. congratulations! How very exciting.

    Like

    • christicorbett

      DM,

      This last week has been a whirlwind of excitement and a bit frantic at times. Tomorrow I’ll celebrate one week of being a published author, and I’m thinking I’ll end the contest tomorrow as well. Best wishes to my twins pulling your name as the winner!

      I see you’re wearing a pink scarf in your picture…did you make it? I ask because I just recently took up crocheting again 🙂

      Christi

      Like

  18. Congratulations & Good luck with it Christi 🙂

    xx

    Like

  19. christicorbett

    We Have a Winner!

    I held a top-secret drawing (okay, I put all the names in one of my hubby’s fishing hats and had my 8yo twins draw a name) and they picked the following name to receive the prize package…

    Carolyn Dekat!

    Congratulations to Carolyn, and thank you so much to everyone for leaving a comment.

    Christi Corbett

    PS. Patricia Yager Delagrange, you were almost the winner because my daughter saw your name slip and put it on the top so she could pick it because she liked the sound of your name. I caught her and made her mix up the names, but know that she thinks you have a beautifully sounding name 🙂

    Like

  20. Thanks to everyone who commented on Christi’s book launch. It was a wonderful response and we both appreciate you taking the time to share in her great event.

    Congrats to Carolyn, our winner !!

    And Oh yes … Christi … tell your daughter I also love the sound of Patti’s name. Show them her Facebook page and they will truly fall in love with her horse Maximus 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

