The first time …

 

From birth to death, there is a first time for everything.

We take our first step, and the thousands of steps that follow take us to places … for the first time.

How about the first time you took off on the bike and didn’t fall over? You nailed it and let the wheels eat the pavement.

Can you remember the first time you got behind the wheel of a car?

How about the first time you fell in love? Did you believe it would be forever?

First-Kiss

Site graphics

 

As the song goes …

when I fall in love, 
it will be forever,
or I’ll never fall in love.

There is another song that comes to my lips …

love is wonderful,
the second time around,
oh so wonderful with both feet on the ground.

Who can know or explain what love is? Is it hot and steamy or warm and gentle? Is it a rush of blood to your head or all your blood falling to your feet with your stomach?

Is it once in a life time or can we find that special magic more than once?

The mystery of love, the comfort of a romance, the stories we love read over and over again.

Well into my fifth decade, I loved reading the classics. I was drawn to their dark side and thought my mother’s love of romance novels was silly. After all, she was a widow for decades. So why did she love reading Harlequin and Silhouette paperbacks by the dozen like donuts?

Think of the million ways we can describe and play with the eternal search for that special love, the endless situations and pairings we read about … sing about … and for most of our adult lives … dream about.

In movies we want Pretty Woman to marry the rich man and we root for the lonely widower from Sleepless in Seattle. We are there on the fire escape … on top of the Empire State Building … we feel the connection and never tire of waiting for sparks to fly.

Of course, we know it’s going to be a happy ending, but it doesn’t lower our blood pressure as we wait for that final moment.

It doesn’t matter that it always was and always will be … boy meets girl … girl or boy falls in love … they find each other … they embrace … and of course … they live happily ever after.

Why not?

Why not crack open the spine of yet another tale of those hapless and wonder lust, lost souls, lonely and waiting for that special someone … crack it open and begin to root for them to find each other in the end.

Do you remember the first time you kissed a boy? That one special moment when you felt silly and wonderful?Practice does make perfect in life and in love.

And today … for your reading pleasure … I give you a snippet from Sunset Park. Because first kisses never get old.

The first kiss …

 

 

first kiss

 

Secondary source

Bobby Salzano was the prettiest boy Antoinette had ever seen and when his mom came to see her mom, he and Antoinette would go in the back yard and play. For as long as she could remember whenever they were together, she felt odd or silly.

Bobby had beautiful wavy black hair and eyes like her brother’s blue on blue agate marbles.  He was  the only boy Antoinette liked who was taller than she. Every girl in the public school was crazy about Bobby, especially Teresa, but Antoinette knew he was crazy for her. She didn’t exactly know how she knew, but she knew.

They were playing handball against the wall of the diner. When they got tired, they found two old milk crates and sat down to watch Slow Rosie’s dad, Carmine Tafazzoli up on the roof with his pigeons. Bobby was busy explaining about pigeons when Antoinette felt him put his finger on her arm. She flinched, but he left it there. She felt him move his finger all the way down her arm, giving her a chilly-willy.

He said, “I like you, Toni. I want to kiss you. Okay?”

Antoinette’s head bobbed up and down, but nothing came out of her mouth.

He put his hands on her shoulders, turned her crate so they were facing each other and he kissed her. And before she knew what was happening, she put her hands on his shoulders and kissed him back. She tingled all over and didn’t want to let him go. She was two weeks shy of ten and Bobby was twelve.

Carmine yelled down at them. “Hey! You two cut that stuff out. You ain’t old enough.” They looked up, laughed and ran back to the front of the house.

Do you remember your fist kiss?

And can we ever have enough romance?

fOIS In The City

 

8 Comments

Filed under Bleeps, Blooper and Outtakes

8 responses to “The first time …

  1. Sadly, Florence, I don’t remember my first kiss…I can only imagine that it wasn’t memorable! Great blog!

    Like

  2. I won’t say what age, but will confess my first kiss was with a boy scout. lol. The first song you picked was sung by my favorite singer, Nat King Cole. At age 3, my #2 sat in his carseat and belted out L is for the way you look at me. O is for the only one I see. V is very, very extraordinary…

    Like

    • Vicki, how special that must have been for your son to sing you those words. It’s so true that love was made for me and you 🙂

      And yes, Nat did that song, but several single and groups also covered it. I just played it for myself on Youtube.

      L is for the way you look at me
      O is for the only one I see
      V is very, very extraordinary
      E is even more than anyone that you adore can

      Love is all that I can give to you
      Love is more than just a game for two
      Two in love can make it
      Take my heart and please don’t break it
      Love was made for me and you

      Like

  3. I remember my first kiss because it was so unmemorable! I was in the shopping mall in my small city and a guy who we were hanging around with for days at the mall sat next to me and leaned in and gave me my first French kiss. It was not enjoyable and I never saw him again. I might have been 15, but I don’t recall. Thankfully the next kisses I had meant something and I enjoyed them and they were with a boy I liked.

    Like

    • Patti … I have a strong feeling that most first kisses are not all that much … maybe like the first time we make love.

      I suppose I was a little slut because I was in the third grade and honestly … it was great. I always adored him … sorry to say he was killed in Vietnam … but the magic of that first kiss has stayed with me always 🙂

      Like

  4. My first kiss was at the end of year middle school dance. He was a very romantic first boyfriend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

