Every day …

… is a new opportunity to be thankful and remember at least one thing that makes it worth rolling out of bed.

Coffee for instance, is a good thing to be thankful for. I mean how many of us would not have the strength to make it out of bed if not for the promise of that first delicious sip of elixir to help us start our day?

 

Thanks.Maxine

 Maxine Graphic

Ever have one of those fantasies as a child where you were accepting an award, won a race or gave a speech? For those of us who write … how many different ways did you write that all-important Acknowledgements’ paragraph at the beginning of your first published novel?

What would happen if that day never came … if you never had the chance to tell everyone in your life that you love and thank them for being there?

Would our life be worth living if we never said thank you?

thankful today

Thanks quotes

On Thanksgiving Day… we celebrate with food and good friends … commiserate with family … and take pause to think of those we have loved who are with us in spirit only.

In keeping with my promise to wow you with four weeks of lists, and in the tradition of Letterman … I give you …

Ten reasons I am thankful:

Number ten: I am thankful that I lost all material trappings, not once, but three times and that it has taught me how meaningless those trappings are.

Number nine: I am thankful for growing up in Brooklyn with a crazy Italian family and for being first generation because it taught me tolerance and love for all cultures.

Number eight: I am thankful for every single mistake I have ever made because they taught me I can do better.

Number seven: I am thankful for my friends, past and present, because they are the sign posts that help me find my way.

Number six: I am thankful for my mother and father who molded me into the person I am.

Number five: I am thankful for being the baby and the only girl and for two brothers who were the amalgam of what all men are or should be.

Number four: I am thankful to my middle brother, who I will never stop missing, and who gave me the love of reading.

Number three: I am thankful to the Big Guy who never stops learning and creating and taught me how to find my personal passion.

Number two. I am thankful I was given the gift of voice and I can make a beautiful noise, be it here or in my stories or in the songs I love to sing.

And the number one reason:

I am thankful for the unconditional love I have been given, even when I didn’t think I was worth it.

thankful-for-everything-i-have-grateful-quotes

Graphic credit

 

We are all worth so much more than we think we are. We have more than we can ever begin to put in ten or ten hundred reasons.

Tomorrow, while you feast on whatever traditional meal you share, with whomever you share it with … take a few moments to remember how much you have to be thankful for. Remember those who are not with those they love, who for whatever reason have no feast or family.

Wherever you are, have a safe and Blessed Thanksgiving Day.

Tell me reader. What are you thankful for?

Do you count your blessings on this day or every day?

fOIS In The City

 

Mazine.Thanks

 

Maxine on Thanksgiving

 

16 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

16 responses to “Every day …

  1. Florence – I was able to do the ‘like’ on my iPad last night while I was reading. Your blog is one I love to read when I’m having those peaceful moments late at night and you have my undivided attention. I’d forgotten I’d basically signed out of wordpress but could still do the ‘likes.’
    I simply wanted to say this is a beautiful blog and as always, you’ve provided me with much food for thought. Here’s to you and yours and a wonderful holiday.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love that list. So wise and true. I like to stop, take a breath, and think about things I am thankful for. There is no such thing as an ordinary day.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. vicki

    Wow, Florence, what a great list. I would love to copy for my own, but would have to take out the brothers. I am grateful for Handsome, my boys, my DIL, my sisters, parents, and relatives. To the friends for live, the funsisters, and my writer friends. I am happy I am here to enjoy each and every day.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. As Lindsay said, there is no such thing as an ordinary day. I try SO hard to be grateful every day for everything I have. There’s a great post on Women Unplugged today by Andrea Wenger with a video from TED about gratitude for each day and simple gratitude for being alive to experience each day. That’s what I am trying to do.
    Thank you, Florence. I’m grateful to have YOU in my life.
    Patti
    I just remembered I owe you a phone call. I completely spaced out due to family stuff. I’m sorry about that.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Patti, I love those TED vids … they uplift us all to a better place. If we keep those we love close to our hearts and remember them each and every day, Thanksgiving, becomes the icing on our cake. A huge ditto.

      I am grateful to have you as well. And after this weekend, we’ll make time to talk. Enjoy your day with your family … Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Every day for sure, b/c as you reminded us, tomorrow isn’t promised to anyone. Love your list, Florence! Happy Thanksgiving, my friend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jamie, I think of you and the year you have had. It makes me smile to know that you keep Thanksgiving in your heart every day. You share love and life and make me smile. Have a Blessed Thanksgiving 🙂

      Like

  6. annerallen

    Lovely list, Florence!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. In Canada, we celebrated our Thanksgiving in early October, but today I want to tell you how thankful I am for your friendship Florence. And how thankful I am for your blog because I get to see glimpses of your life and therefore, I get to know you a little bit better. Happy Thanksgiving, my friend!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sheila, I wasn’t exactly sure of the date of the Canadian Thanksgiving. I am equally as thankful to have met you. It’s a joy to see your happy face show up each week. I will enjoy and think of all those here and up “north” that I can’t be with. Thanks 🙂

      Like

  8. There is always so much to be thankful for in our lives, and it doesn’t always have to be just the big things. As you mentioned, a cup of coffee at a time when we need it most can do it for many of us.

    Right now, I’m most grateful for all the people in my life, especially two little people who constantly give me reason to smile and be happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura, love the image of those two little people. How wonderful for you.

      Yes, we need to revel in those little things, those snippets of time we can steal away. Hope your Thanksgiving was filled with joy and peace 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

