It’s taking too long …

Often … like four or five times a day … I feel like I have taken ten thousand steps and am still walking in place.

I make the cardinal mistake of calculating how long it took this person or that person to publish their first book and how many things the other one published before they turned whatever age. I actually googled to find out who was the oldest person to publish the first time. He was 96.

I count the years.

impatient

Hell, at my age, those numbers can get pretty scary. It’s been seven of them since I decided to sit down and take me seriously.

What if I had started younger?

What would I have done if someone told me it was going to take an interminable amount of time to reach my goal?

It’s taking too long …

Back in the dark ages of the fifties when I was in grade school, a psychologist informed my older brother that I needed to take drugs for my attention deficit disorder.

The Big Guy took me by the hand and lifted me out of my seat, told the shrink what he could with his opinion, and immediately informed our parents that he was moving me to another school.

I had a short attention span.

I was impatient when we went on road trips. I watched the sauce bubble and became insane that it took so long to cook.

impatient.04

Time either moved with lightening speed or it crawled across the calendar like an inch worm. I am compulsively early for every type of appointment or social event. I am a clock watcher and a foot tapper.

The reality that this business of ours takes such a long time is like being restricted to a tiny box with no door and no window.

So I’ve learned to practice a mantra … think out of the box … think out of the box.

Use the time. It is not taking too long. It is taking as long as it needs to take. The universe will give you what you ask, but only when you are ready.

impatient.03

All my life I’ve played with words. And when I come here I want to play with words and images and pretend I am a magazine editor. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.

I love blogging …

Make no mistake. This blog as humble and widely unread as it might be … is still a writer’s blog. Written by and for writers … about the genres and sub-genres of writing … writing for fun or for a living or the love of God and country.

It’s my weekly deadline and … as small a contribution as it might be … I love it.

Besides I always relished having an audience for my funny stories. The more people gathered around me at a party, the more animated I became.

That brings me to the topic of the next few weeks.

Maxine age

I want to do funny.

And it’s giving me a major migraine because I want to do funny with new characters. No recycling. No pulling out one of my old folders and dusting them off.

It’s the perfect time to experiment with something new. Why? Because I am so busy right now I don’t know whether to scratch my watch or wind my bum.

Because I want to push myself to the limit.

Because no matter what I do … I will still be impatient and worry it’s taking too long.

 Tell me my loyal readers

Do you think it’s taking you too long?

Or have you captured one dream and wait

Impatiently for the next?

fOIS In The City

 Impatient credits on Pinterest

MaxineChores

 MAXINE

18 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

18 responses to “It’s taking too long …

  1. christicorbett

    First, the cartoon at the end is my mantra! I love making long lists of things that need to get done, and then never doing them *eyes bag of potting soil sitting on front steps next to flowers still in tiny containers from the nursery*

    As for your questions at the end of the post, it took me 13 years to reach my first book goal (idea to publication) and with my next book I cut it considerably down to only two years. Now, I’m going to try and make it only one year for the next, but who knows what life will bring. I’m happy to be writing, and thrilled to be here for you, rooting you on along the way!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Christi, do you realize that for six of those seven years of mine, we’ve been cyber friends and blogging supporters? You were my first blog comment ever and for many moons, my only comment.

      I came into the middle of your vigil and I am proud that I have been able to share your joy of reaching your first goal. Your talent was waiting to be appreciated. Thanks for the cyber-love … right back at’cha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve got Christi beat by two years – took me 15. And guess what? I’m still waiting, but the goal has just changed. The one thing writers have a lot of practice at is waiting – but we never seem to get better at it!

    But the good news is, while we’re waiting, we’re having more fun than should be allowed by law!

    When I get antsy and frustrated, I remember that my love isn’t of being published (although that does not suck), or being a best-seller (though I’ll bet that would not suck), it’s about the love of words. Playing with them, sorting through them like jigsaw pieces to find just the right one . . . THAT’S what I love first, and always.

    Hang in and breathe, Girlfriend.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Laura, there is something special about the friends we meet in our cyber-world and today is a prime example. You and Christi were two of the first writers I met on-line.

      It has been wonderful to be a part of your amazing journey. You remind me often to hang in there. Ah yes, isn’t the word the most incredible high? Finding them, arranging them, playing and enjoying them … the love of the word is truly the best part of it all 🙂

      Thanks for being there, biker-chick 🙂

      Like

  3. I self-published my first book in 2011, in fear and trembling and not knowing what I was doing. Book #4 is out on May 25, and though what I’ve learned since 2011 could fill a book by itself, I am not one of the people with bragging rights about their sales, etc.
    When I look at this one way, it hurts. Why so little, I think? When I look at it another way, it is a major accomplishment. It is HUGE. I am doing what I claimed for years and years that I wanted to do. It’s hard work; that must be why I resisted it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kudos !!! A wonderful accomplishment, Lindsay … and you earned bragging rights.

      Often, the bottom line is not about the money, but the pure joy of accomplishing what we thought was an insurmountable task. And hard though it is, there is no better labor of love 🙂

      Like

  4. Hey, if we reached this goal too soon, think of all the other goals we would have missed along the way. And remember what that great philosopher said, “T’ain’t what you do , it’s the way that you do it.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes Shelley, the true beauty of it all are the other things we get to do along the say. Not to mention the great people we meet 🙂

      You remind me that while I am tapping my foot … I am learning. And that makes the biggest difference to the way you do it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. And writing the stories we want to write, as best we can. If humor is where your heart is, go for it. There will be heat there.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. vicki

    Hi, Florence! It took nine years for The Wild Rose Press to make an offer for my book. But in between, I honed the craft of writing short fiction and sold around 25 of them. I’m with you on the short attention span thing. I get antsy when working on longer fiction. I may stick with short from now on. I certainly have made more money writing short. So write what you want. And remember that is fun.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for sharing, Vicki. I might want to pick your brains about those short … or I’ll check out your site again and make notes on your various publications. I’ve always had fun with the short. That’s why I love the blog. Short, to the point and goodnight.

      Love your humor and it’s good to know I am not the only attention deficit adult who gets antsy 🙂

      Like

  7. Oh, man, I couldn’t agree with you more about getting “antsy” during this whole writing “thang”. I started in 2009 and have had two wonky agents who didn’t work out and one book published that sold less than 100 copies and now my second book will be published on June 1st with another small press and we’ll see what happens. Why don’t I look at all this as a great accomplishment? I guess it’s because I see so many writers around me who have made it SO much bigger and are selling books and I wonder, “Why not me?” That’s way too pessimistic for ME and I endeavor to change my mindset; but it’s hard. Also, my family treats my writing like “ho hum” which irks me. They think it’s really cool to tell people I write books and show them the one that was published but otherwise they never ask me anything about it, which makes me feel like what I do is nothing significant. Do I have a problem? Probably…..and looking for someone to tell me otherwise. maybe!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay, Patti … I’ll tell you otherwise. What you do is important but if you wait for your family to give you support … you’ll be waiting a while. They don’t mean it. It’s just that some families take mom for granted so what she does ends up being ho hum.

      Believe in yourself. As neurotic as I am, there is a small voice in me that nags … you got this gift for a reason. It is a labor of love, just don’t forget that sometimes love is hard.

      Keep striving !!! I look forward to your next book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yeah, I hear ya’, Florence. There are days I feel great about writing – usually when I’m writing another book or editing a book. It’s the between times WHEN I’M WAITING, that I go all pessimistic! I don’t stop, though. I keep going. So I know there’s more than a kernel of belief inside of me. Thanks for the optimism.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My mantra is “In its own perfect time.” 🙂 That certainly doesn’t alleviate the impatience, but it helps me stay calm and relatively sane, lol! Florence, you will do awesome with the humor. You already have such a wonderfully humorous tone to your writing. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next on your blog…and your writing, which will come in its own perfect time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sheila, that is a wonderful mantra. No, I suppose none of it alleviates all the impatience in any of us.

      I don’t know how calm I can be when I just put my feet to the fire for some new material on the blog. Yep, I do love funny. Let’s wait and see what happens. Thank 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

