What would you do if you were me …

Womenshumor.03Let’s say for a minute that you are me. Okay, stop laughing out there. Play along for now and wait to see what happens.

You’re me and you’re bored or you can’t think of what to write or you just have an itch to collect random minutia.

I do love minutia … I even like the word.

I have this fondest for the sound or image some words call up in my brain … minutia … those inconsequential fragments of thoughts that linger in the nether regions of your brain.

minutia

your cards credit

You get an itch to find something about a place. I’ve been searching for a place for a story that is kind of rural with rivers or ocean and mountains and lots of open space.

You google the name of a place that comes to mind … Oshkosh for instance.

Oshkosh is a city in Winnebago County, Wisconsin, located where the Fox Riber enters Lake Winnebago from the west. The city is located adjacent to and partially within the Town of Oshkosh. The population was 66,083 at the 2010 census. 

Washington Heights is a neighborhood in the northern portion of the New York City borough of Manhattan. The area had over 150,000 inhabitants as of 2010.  

Note: There are approximately 20,000 or more undocumented inhabitants in Washington Heights.

oshkosh

That computes to one town in Wisconsin having less than half the population of one neighborhood in Manhattan.

Don’t you love the sounds of Oshkosh and Winnebago? Reminds me of cute little babies in overalls and a great way to travel around the country and carry your own tiny cottage with you.

Moving along …

Ever try to remember the name of an actor who played in that movie you liked so much. The problem is you can’t remember the name of the movie and the face of the actor is laughing at you, but you can’t remember her or his name.

Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon is a parlor game based on the “six degrees of separation” concept which posits that any two people on earth are six or fewer acquaintance links apart. 

The idea eventually morphed into this game wherein movie buffs challenge each other to find the shortest path between an arbitrary actor and prolific Hollywood character actor Kevin Bacon. It rests on the assumption that any individual involved in the Hollywood, California, film industry can be linked through his or her film roles to Kevin Bacon within six steps. 

your cards

So? You can’t remember the actor but you remember that he or she was in a movie with someone’s name you do remember. You search for the movies made by the other actor until you recognize the movie you can’t remember. Then you search for the cast of that movie and BINGO.

Words and images that link to other words and images are the foundation of our craft.

One of my favorite email loops came twice a year in one of our on-line writer’s groups. Someone would post the question of what the other members were reading. And if you copied each response you might end up with a list of over a hundred books.

Womenshumor.02

I mention this because I have recently decided to give up television. Not turn it off as click the remote and go about other business. I turned off the cable and gave away the television set.

You might not like network drama or sitcoms or soaps … you might not watch during the day or you prefer to cuddle with a good book at night … and I would still bet my bottom drawer that every single one of you is hooked up to that cable for something.

What I love are movies, old reruns, public television and more movies. Of actual network shows, I watched three and I can live without them.

Please don’t worry about my state of insanity. I gave up CABLE not entertainment. I replaced my cable company’s phone and internet with a phone company’s phone and internet. And I am doing a thirty day trial on several of the Netflix types of membership.

And since my old-fashioned television … the one that caused my daughter to roll on the floor in uncontrollable laughter … cannot stream to my computer … I will eventually get a smart TV. That is once I surf the internet for details and configurations and more minutia I do not comprehend.

usb port

How are your USB ports doing these days? Do you ever get a longing to know the Mpbs of your internet or how to receive 4K HD?

No more clunky square boxes, now we have streamline screens with letters and numbers to detail what they do. And a 40” screen is not exactly 40” because it is measured diagonally and even then you could lose up to half an inch.

What?

I digress …

I haven’t forgotten … you’re me and you do these pesky things. Yeah, I also love the word pesky … it harkens back to my childhood when …

And my thinking patterns are often like those loopy emails sent by our members, they circle the net until they take on a life of their own.

In case you were interested … and even if you are not … my posts generally are about 1,000 words. Sometimes when I am truly searching for knit to pick I copy and paste and look at the word counts of other bloggers.

These posts range from over 2,000 words to Christi Corbett who can often write a post of one sentence. I think it’s a gift to be able to sum up any topic in one sentence … a gift I was obviously not given.

We have come to the end. My word count is threatening to rise to un-Godly numbers at which point I imagine my readers nodding off.

womens humor

Wake up!

You are no longer me. You are yourself once again.

You are a writer in some form or other and as such you are a reader.

I read almost every type of genre and literature and am most fond of poetry and what you might expect … I am a true lover of shorts.

In the past two weeks I have read ten books by some of my favorite writers. I am on the last 20 pages of number eleven this morning.

So send me a list of what you think you’ll be reading over the summer. Beach books, old books you want to rediscover, books your friends sent you.

I hoped you enjoyed being me … or at least felt a slight tingling rising from your toes to your back and raising the hair on your neck.

Being me can be such a thrill.

Tell me my devoted follower … 

What are your random thoughts and 

What are you reading today?

fOIS In The City

womenshumor.04

 

Reference Credit:

All references in italics were copied or paraphrased from Wikopedia.com

All women’s humor from Pinterest

 

15 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

15 responses to “What would you do if you were me …

  1. I found an Irish book called BREAKFAST THE NIGHT BEFORE — it is a memoir — totally by accident while I was listening to samples of books read by Simon Denman at the Listen Inside Podcast (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/listen-inside-daily-book-previews/id975201753). This is a great service for authors; i think I’ll be signing up myself.
    Anyway, I found a good book.
    I’ve been thinking of dropping cable TV. Last year I didn’t watch TV for 2 weeks when I was on vacation and didn’t miss it. At all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, yeah, I could do without my iPhone, my big screen t.v., my MacBook. In reality, I don’t want to. I try not to be too obsessive about any of them but don’t do a very good job at it. However, I do not and will not watch t.v. during the day and allow myself to watch a few of my favorites in the evening. I need my phone to connect to my kids – something I’d never give up. And the Mac? Well, how could I send out all those query letters without it? Oh, well, even though I “thought about” being you and leaving it all behind, I don’t think I can nor want to right now, Florence. One of the few enjoyments in my life is connecting with kiddies and watching Wayward Pines, so…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I hear you Patti. Remember I only gave up Cable not entertainment or technology. Love techie stuff and will stream internet and Netflix to a smart TV. I just gave up the nightly line up which BTW you can rent on line any time 🙂

      And where would we be if we could not connect to the kiddies ??

      Liked by 1 person

  3. vicki

    Good morning, Florence! I love TV. And it is how Handsome relaxes. I do a lot of needlepoint and watch bunches of old movies and a few odd and end shows. I like texting and email, but don’t like to chat on the phone. And love my computer, but at the end of the day, I can easily walk away. What am I reading? I still have to finish edits on Temporarily Insane and see if my editor wants to read it. I have a Tana French thriller to get my hands on. Lots of paperbacks–mystery and romance. Some craft books, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, Vicki. It is a horse of a different color when we have other people to consider. However, I will keep all my gadgets and even buy more of them … I just refuse to be a part of CABLE and the usual assortment on network television 🙂

      Temporarily Insane … the sister to Temporarily Unemployed? Wonderful sequel. I love, love, love thrillers and plan to find some new Tess Gerritsen this summer 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki, I love love love that title Temporarily Insane?
      What’s it about?

      Like

      • vicki

        Hi, Patti! it is the second in my romantic comedy mystery series. This time Hattie is employed at an accounting firm and two auditors are poisoned. If I finish edits today, I should be able to turn it in! Wish me luck!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. christicorbett

    😀 I became astute at doing a one sentence blog post because I’ve usually got all kinds of noise and rowdiness going on around me (barking dog, twins making zip lines from the curtain rod across to the entryway, etc…) when I’m trying to create a post. I cherish all the ruckus now because I know it will soon be fading to quiet as they grow older, get jobs, get cars, head off to college *wipes tears*.

    I’m hoping to have a smart phone sometime this year (not in the budget right now) and am finding it funny how my twins and their friends are fascinated by the long, curly cord at the end of our “landline” phone. They also think it’s fun to be able to “hang up” the phone instead of just pushing a button on a screen. Old school for the win!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Christi … don’t rush it. These are the magical years … those years when you can keep them close and protected. However, it is also a very noisy time, cluttered with stuff that must be done. And for twins, I do not know how you do it 🙂

      🙂 You can always get a stupid wireless phone 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, you’d be terrified by my random thoughts, but yours make me giggle! I just read 3 books this past weekend . . . the last one was Teach Me. It was about an inappropriate student/teacher relationship . . . as a teacher, it gave me nightmares!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve gone over to the light side in my reading for some time now. I have a difficult time concentrating and thus spend more time reading articles in magazines.
    I did just finish reading ‘The Girls of Mischief Bay’ by Susan Mallery. This novel is the beginning of her new series. I think the title should have been ‘women’ as the genre is definitely women’s fiction. Last night I started Jodi Picot’s ‘Leaving.’
    On my nightstand you’ll find: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, The Garden of Happy Endings, Under the Wide and Starry Sky, A Week in Winter, How The Light Gets In,The Light in the Ruins, The Silver Boat, Orphan Train, Leeway Cottage, The Ballad of Tom Dooley, Looking For Me,The Typewriter Girl, Until The Next Time, The Secret Keeper, Far From Here and The Truth About You.
    My non-fiction reading is primarily about healthcare, military white papers and research regarding Tom’s health.
    My subscription rate has gone sky high but I don’t like reading them on my iPad any more than I want to read novels that way. When I reached 65 I started receiving offers for numerous magazines I enjoy for $5 a year and you can’t beat that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

