Romancing the Big Apple-Part One …

Marriott_Marquis_New_York

New York Marriott Marquis

And what better way to romance The City than the annual conference of Romance Writers of America, 35th Annual Conference at the New York Marriott Marquis n Times Square, being held on July 22-25,2015.

A trilogy of posts can never say or show enough. Beginning today, I will do a six-part series on the city of my dreams … the place where magic can and does happen daily and where in six weeks thousands of romance writers will flock to The City … my city … to enjoy the excitement of the conference bash. You will also be staying at a beautiful hotel in the hub of Time Square.

The City That Never Sleeps can be so many things to so many people and for those of us who know and love her … it is one of the most romantic places on the globe.

Between now and July 22nd there will be much said about the dos and don’ts of the conference, advice on how to optimize your chances of landing an agent who will at the very least listen politely to your pitch and perhaps agree to read a portion of your novel. There will be talk about the Keynote Speakers, Award Ceremonies, and special workshops.

In short, you will learn all you need to know to have an enjoyable and successful time.

My gift to all my writer/friends who will be attending is what to do on your scant-short time on your own.

Not much time to tour?

What to do on your precious off hours?

Before you dash out the doors, take a gander at your surroundings. The Marriott Marquis was part of a multi-million dollar make over of the heart of Manhattan and one of its unique features is its amazing staff and the services they provide. Stroll the lobby, inquire at the front desk and take advantage of the dozens of brochures that outline what you can do inside and outside the hotel.

hotel.02

See the city in style from our Broadway Hotel

“Surround yourself with the sights and sounds of the city at New York Marriott Marquis. Get relaxed and energized simultaneously as you step into some of the largest guest rooms in NYC, amid the hustle and bustle of famed Broadway. Nestled in the heart of Times Square, our Broadway hotel in New York gives you easy access to the Javits Center, exciting shows and several subway lines to access any part of NYC. Located near Fifth Avenue shopping, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Lincoln Center and Madison Square Garden, our hotel puts travelers in the midst of popular NYC attractions and business destinations.

hotel

Enjoy a meal at our signature revolving restaurant, aptly named The View for its rooftop location and picturesque city vistas. With an incredible 100,000 square feet of event space, our Broadway hotel is the natural choice for meetings and parties of any size in New York City. Visit New York Marriott Marquis and experience the excitement and excellent service for yourself!”

You’ll love taking one of the New York Guided Walking Tour of the theater district and more.

theatre district

times square

Take a walking tour

Adorned with brightly-colored billboards and flashing marquis, Times Square is often referred to as the crossroads of the world, the center of the universe or The Great White Way.

It is one of the busiest pedestrian intersections and the center of the Broadway Theater District. It is one of the world’s most visited tourist attractions, drawing over 39 million visitors annually … approximately 330,000 people pass through Times Square daily, both tourists and people who work in the area.

NYC-Times-Square

Tourists with sandals and white socks with their ever-ready cameras … small children with their mouths agape … men hawking main attractions at clubs and dance halls … and though Times Square seems to have changed … it has not.

78235puz_TimesSquare_.Composite

Times Square

 

It was then and is today … a man-made-cotton-candy-colored-marvel.

When the hectic conference schedule allows … whether dawn, dusk or the rising moon … enjoy the many moods of the city.

Walk along Fifth Avenue from Times Square at dawn and travel north.

Go on and take that paper cup of java and a Danish … watch the sky begin to light over the streets and pretend …

Or take the bus late in the evening to the Empire State Building and go to the observation deck where Sally goes to finally meet Sleepless.

sleepless in seattle

 

sleepless.02

Sleepless in Seattle

Okay … the conference does not give you much time to take in all the wonders of my beloved City.

There are two ways for both day and night … and I suggest if you can afford the time you do one of each during the day and then at night. I’ll take you there in Weeks Four and Five.

Next week we’ll tour two midtown wonders … The Radio City Music Hall in Rockefeller Plaza and the historic Grand Central Station … both within easy walking distance from the hotel.

Are you going to the RWA National Conference?

If not, do you wish you could?

fOIS In The City

 

Max

Romancing Maxine

22 Comments

Filed under City Scapes

22 responses to “Romancing the Big Apple-Part One …

  1. I’m going, Florence, but you didn’t say if YOU are! Thanks for helping out us noobs. I have been to NY once, years ago, and am looking forward to going back. My friend and I are staying two extra days, and one day we’re going where I want, and one is hers.

    For mine, we’re going to the Met Museum. I. Cannot. Wait! For hers – she has a friend who lives there, who’s going to pick us up, and show us the city – the neighborhoods I’ve read about my whole life.

    As if conference wasn’t exciting ENOUGH!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Laura … sad that it is … I will not be there. I will get a vicarious thrill from what you and others will do. THE MET !! Moma … the Mecca. A person can spend a lifetime and never see it all. Enjoy.

      The City neighborhoods are fantastic and if you can, and since you are driving, take a ride over the Brooklyn Bridge and enjoy her “lace” and her magnificent views.

      You will be reporting all of this. How I so would have loved to be there. Keep reading and I might give you some ideas for other ways to enjoy the sights 🙂

      Like

  2. I will be reading your posts with awe and wonder.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You aren’t going? You would have everyone out of the conference, following you around NYC, listening to your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is tragic to me that I cannot attend. I had so looked forward to meeting those I can only enjoy on line and had intended to be a huge tour guide. But alas, life happens or as it is said … we plan and God laughs 🙂

      Like

  4. vicki

    Hi, Florence! NOT GOING???!!! And I so wanted to hug you in person. Yes, I’ll be there and have scheduled some shows and the Met and a little RWA on the side, of course. I can’t wait to make new friends and see old ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah yes, Vicki … so true that I cannot attend. And I wanted to hug you and everyone else I’ve been anxious to meet in person. The best of The City is within walking distance of the Marriott and the rest is accessible with two or three different types of tour.

      You will love the Met and the shows and just a little bit of RWA … romance does demand its due especially when in NYC. Enjoy the rest of my series and I EXPECT lots of pictures from your trip 🙂

      Like

  5. Sounds like a great time can surely be had in your city, Florence. You could probably make an audio commentary and people would enjoy listening to your suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. annerallen

    LOVE that scene from Breakfast at Tiffany’s! You’ve made me nostalgic for the East Coast and the Big Apple.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You bet, Anne. I spent more than an hour with bits of that movie on Youtube … Holly was the best of us and our beloved Audrey did her total justice. Since we are both natives of the North East, you can wax nostalgic during the next few weeks. I am in awe of the pics you post on FB of your town … a scenic and peaceful place to be 🙂

      Like

  7. I’ve been fortunate to visit the city twice & attend one RWA conference back in 2010 when it was in my neck of the woods (Orlando), but sadly, I will not be there this year. I can’t wait to read the rest of your posts though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jamie, I am a transplant and retired to South Florida a bit west of Pompano and a stone’s throw from Fort Lauderdale. Your neck of the woods is a place I love to visit … and where you and the kids have been vacationing is a special treat.

      Who knows that the next time it’s in Orlando we can finally meet 🙂

      Like

  8. I’ve never been to any writing conference, although I personally know people who have. Sounds exciting, though. 🙂 People usually come home feeling very energized.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Laura … that is what I always heard. Actually, I thought this would be my first … but alas … it was not to be. I’ll enjoy giving folks ideas on how to spend their non-conference time in my native New York. Thanks … we’ll have to be energized the usual way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. christicorbett

    I love these posts where you give a virtual tour of New York, makes me want to visit!

    Right now I’m trying to decide between two conferences, both on the West coast since I’m in Oregon. One is the RT Convention in Las Vegas next April, and the other is the Women Writing the West conference in Oregon this coming October.

    I’ve been to three writing conferences (two were small one day events, and one was a three day event that I could only attend one day, but it was great!) and I’ve found it’s helpful to be around other writers with many of the same issues and concerns.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great for you, Christi … I agree that it is a wonderful experience to be around people in the same muddle … puddle 🙂 It works for so many reasons. Thanks for liking the tour … keep tuning in for more 🙂

      Like

  10. Fun blog to experience from top to bottom. I loved reading the comments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

