Part Six-Romancing The Big Apple-Love on the river …

Saving the best for last is a good writer-tease-trick-tickle of a way to bring you to another happy ending.

Happily ever after along the winding rivers of downstate New York means you can circle the entire island, cruise inside her harbor, visit her out-islands or duck under her bridges.

Boat.01

The Boat

My love affair for riding on top of the water goes back to my earliest recollections of being on the Hudson River Day Line, the boat to the Statue of Liberty, and of course, the Staten Island Ferry … the old Brooklyn Ferry that carried me from the 69th Street slip in Bay Ridge to the ferry slips of Staten Island.

I also took the New York Ferry that travels, and still does so, from downtown Manhattan to the same docks on the Island.

staten island ferry

Old Staten Island Ferry

statenFerry Slip

Incredibly, like the trolley ride, this was the best use of a kid’s meager nickle. A nickle ride to enjoy the open air of the trolley and the ferry.

Visitors can still enjoy the Manhattan Ferry for a grand view of downtown, the lower harbor and the Statue of Liberty. However, the most frequent users of the ferry system are residents of Staten Island on their way to work.

For residents of New York and visitors, there are over thirty-one boat cruises daily. This includes the Hop On, Hop Off Sightseeing Ferry, The Sunset and Twilight Cruises, New York Water Taxis, The Statue by Night, The Circle Line, The Daytime Statue Sail on the Clipper City Tall Ship, several yacht, tall ship and speed boat cruises, and a half dozen choices for dinner cruises.

At least two times each summer, I traveled with my family on the original Hudson River Day line, up river, and debarked at the docks of Poughkeepsie. My dad, an old seafaring man, wanted at least one trip to our family by water. Our trips back to Brooklyn were by railroad and subway.

Hudson River Dayliner at Bear Mountain Dock New York

Hudson River Dayliner at Bear Mountain Dock New York

For true love on the river, the evening dinner cruises are the most spectacular, the fine dining, the amazing views of the bridges and the skyline at night, and the lull of the water, all conspire to romance.

ships at night

Whichever way you might decide to tour my grand city, the Circle Line offers tours as short as one and a half hours, or an evening cruise in the harbor. Consider taking at least one boat ride … or if you travel down to the Memorial for 9-11, take a short walk and ride on the Staten Island Ferry, a very short, sweet way to enjoy the harbor.

Romance is the most popular genre fiction, the glue that holds a good relationship together, and the secret desire of both men and women.

It is celebrated in song and sonnet, in short and long tales, on the big and small screen, and for those traveling to New York City next week at the RWA National Conference, it is the ultimate experience for a romance writer.

Romancing The Big Apple can last a lifetime.

It is why millions choose to pay high rents, endure rush hour on the subway or ignore her ticks and warts … why millions travel from all parts of the globe to embrace her, to call her home, to take back memories that never fade.

I can only hope that for those of you who have never seen or felt her, that one day you have the opportunity to embrace what I have known all my life.

It is called The City because there is nothing like her. And although some of you may balk or tell me the wonders of your city, she is the ultimate, The City that never sleeps, the true City of Lights and the best little island anywhere.

To be fair please I’d love to hear about your favorite city.

Tell me her name and why you think she is the best.

fOIS In The City

Maxine.14

 Maxine

12 Comments

Filed under City Scapes

12 responses to “Part Six-Romancing The Big Apple-Love on the river …

  1. Ah, the water – my most favorite part of living anywhere. Which is why my tiny city of Alameda (pop. 80,000+) is so loved by so many. It’s a man-made island right across the bay from San Francisco with views to die for and surrounded – duh – by the bay. I’ve never felt comfortable living away from the water. When I lived in Corvallis, Oregon, I almost had claustrophobia being too far inland!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Patti … I know what you mean. My mom called me her water baby because once I was at the beach or at a pool she couldn’t get me on dry land. There is something wonderful about living near the water, the peace and tranquility, the ebb and flow, the endless waves as they say.

      Your island sounds magical. You should post pictures on FB so I can see them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This series has been such a treat. I know why people love New York.

    Like

  3. christicorbett

    Thank you again for the virtual tour of New York!

    Like

  4. Wow! I love seeing The City. Thanks for sharing..

    I was also reminded of what could once be bought for a nickle and it made me feel a little old! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love sharing, Laura. The sights and the sounds and the memories. Do you remember “penny” candy? 🙂

      Like

      • I’m not sure that I actually remember “Penny Candy” or remember hearing about it. I do remember these licorice pipes (that BTW I hated) and these whistle type toys that were orange and were made of paraffin wax you could chew and they were sweet. I guess you chewed on the once you got tired of making noises. 😉 Not even sure what we called them and I don’t think I described them very well…lol. A little store not far from home carried them.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. annerallen

    This is such a great series. I’ve really enjoyed it Florence!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are the best of the best in romancing the Big Apple. Your love affair comes across loud and clear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

