Perception-Our only reality …

You know that exercise they do in law school? A stranger bursts into a room of students and does something … shouts, dances, jumps up and down. Or they run into the room and run right back out.

How about the party game at a dinner table? The person at the head of the table whispers something to the person next to them and tells them … “Pass it on.”

In one instance, the law professor reminds the students that the weakest form of evidence is an eye witness account.

In the other, by the time the message gets back to the person who started, it has changed completely.

Of all the aspects of psychology, I am fascinated most by perception. We color what we see internally …  seeing our world in our unique way.

perception

Link

By the way …

Glad to be back  !!

happy to be here

Image credit

I’ve missed you … whoever you are out there in cyber-space.

And for the last three weeks, I have been missing my main soul-sista and one of my most trusted BETA readers.

We talk every day except for three weeks a year when she travels to various spots on the globe. Off she treks to Africa or the Middle East, to Spain or Bali … to Vietnam or Paris.

And even then, she finds international calling cards or phones and gives me a holler or sends e-mails. Imagine that? Emails from the Serengetee?

And during those weeks, her younger sister from New York comes down to “cat sit.”

Yes, my soul-sista is one of those cat-obsessed types who must have a very special type of “sitting” for her beloved cat. Don’t ask.

My friend comes from a family of eight siblings … four boys and four girls. Her mother worked two full time jobs and ran a tax business to support them after she and her husband split.

She loves to tell me stories about her siblings and her mom. I’ve fallen in love with her mom from hearing stories of her.

A woman who worked two jobs, checked homework and infused a love of learning and hard work in all her children … a woman who did not see a single of one them as she saw any of the others.

She talked to each of them differently, advised and guided each of them along a path in life and set in motion the successful lives of eight individuals.

Dozens of times my friend and her younger sister have recounted the same story of a family incident. One would think they were talking about two different families.

 

big family

Cartoon image

Like I might have believed my two older brothers were raised by two completely different parents. Well not really. We all three, were raised by the same two people.

But none of us saw either of them the same way. I check this off to our differences in age.

I was not the oldest who was destined to succeed. The one who became my surrogate father. Nor was I the middle rebel, fated to fight his way through life … never quite satisfied with his lot.

The big guy was my dad’s favorite … the middle one my mom’s.

And then along came me … the interloper … the accident baby who had the nerve to intrude on their well established places on the two thrones beside our parents.

I was the “baby” of the family and until the pregnancy for my second child, the Big Guy called me Baby. My sister-in-law pointed to my eighth month belly and informed her husband that I was no longer a baby.

Actually, the only people who called me by my name were teachers and friends. My entire family, extended to up-state cousins and the local Italian horde all called me Baby or Rufiana. Rufiana is an Italian endearment for a kind of female Dennis the Menace and loosely translated means … ruffian. A rose by any other name is a rose and the kid from Brooklyn?

And if that isn’t enough … I am also a “Baby Boomer.” My goodness, I was even born into a generation of seventy-three million strong who were thought of as babies.

And baby, you haven’t seen the best of me yet.

Back again

Cartoon credit

Since I’ve been gone for longer than my usual Holiday and Summer breaks … I thought I’d start this year with one of my trilogies.

Gees, Louise … another of those three part things?

I mean who said you’d hang around for three weeks just to learn of my unique take … my perception of life, love and the secrets of the universe … my reality.

Oh, come on … hang with me for a while. We might have fun.

AND … in case I forgot to mention it … today is the first day of autumn … my favorite season and it is also my Birthday.

Yes, yes X-number of years ago, the old girl gave one valiant push and Bingo … I slid into the world.

I slid into my world and yours too … to do mischief and mayhem … to tell you tall tales … to entertain and delight.

And in the next two weeks I will do just that. I will entertain you with my definition of our world … why we write … why we blog … why we are caught up in cyber-space talking to people we may never meet in person.

Wish me a Happy Birthday and stay tuned.

Tell me if you will …

What is it about your world that makes it special?

What makes the world you live in a place others might like to visit?

fOIS In The City

Maxine and coffee

Buy it at Amazon

21 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

21 responses to “Perception-Our only reality …

  1. Rosemary

    Happy birthday!

    Like

  2. Well, happy birthday, and glad you are back! Autumn is my favorite season, too.

    Like

  3. sfreydont

    She’s ba-a-a-a-a-ack!
    Birthday?
    Thirty nine again?
    And many happy returns.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vicki

    Hi, Florence! and Happy Birthday!!! It’s so good to have you back and read your fun blog. Being in the USA covers a lot of what I like. My family. My friends. My writing. Technology. I feel very lucky.

    Like

  5. Happy birthday, my cyber friend! And welcome to the Fall of our lives for 2016. I am glad you’re back and yes, I have certainly missed your blog posts. What is it about my world that makes me happy? I’d have to say my two kids – 21 and 16 now – and my life in Alameda and my horse and my writing and my online friends. I could go on and on but I do have a list of things which make me want to get up and at ’em every day of every week, so I consider myself lucky and above-average happy because of it.
    Hi there, Florence!
    Patti

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just realized that I put in that it’s 2016! What in the heck did I do that for? Time is whizzing by quickly enough without me making myself another year older! Oh, man, I have to analyze that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. annerallen

    Happy Birthday and Welcome Back! We missed you.

    You’re so right about perception. My sister and I are ten years apart and our childhoods could not have been more different–especially since my mom had different husbands in the different decades.

    I’ve been thinking a lot about the whole perception thing this week because I’m reading the bestseller Girl on The Train–which has THREE unreliable narrators. It’s great for creating suspense, but readers don’t always warm to a narrator who is a total mess. Still the book is working for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Anne … it is good to be back. I missed you too !!

      I hope you do something with perception … it has always fascinated me. Mostly because of what we were talking about. I find siblings … even when they had the same parents … often describe their childhoods as if they were raised on opposites sides of the globe 🙂

      Girl on The Train sounds like something I would like. I’ll check it out 🙂

      Like

  8. I am so-o-o-o happy you are back. I returned time and time again to your blog thinking I’d missed a post. Honest, Florence, I was ready to send the cops! Happy birthday to you and we all need to figure out a way to hang out and have a real live chat – you know – one of those face to face kind where you can see the other’s facial expression and real body language.
    I can’t begin to tell you how much I’ve missed you. You’ve been a regular part of my world and I love that you are in it.
    What makes me happy – When we find a new doctor who genuinely cares about Tom and even gives me his private cell number, talking on the phone almost daily to my former deputy – we became such dear friends, my garden and every garden I come across, cold water from a natural spring and the list goes on. I’m happiest of all when Tom is awake and we have a few moments to talk and laugh a bit before his pain returns.
    Welcome back, Florence. You have indeed been missed and if my observation is correct, I’m not the only one with that perception.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dearest, Sheri … I’ll need a few days to get my “sea legs” back and catch up with all my blogger friends. And even though I’ve talked in real time to some of you, I have often thought of Skype or one of those live connections with sound and image.

      I think of you and Tom not only during my breaks but also during these times when we can keep in tough through cyber space. My heart goes out to both of you during these trying times.

      I am delighted to be back and hear from so many of you. Thanks for the warm welcome and Birthday wishes … see you in space 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  9. I saw it was your bday on FB & thought you might blog today 🙂 Happy Birthday, again! So funny you blogged about perspective. I just taught a lesson on it yesterday to my 8th grade students . . . quite fun & enlightening!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good to be back, Jamie. Thanks for the FB good wishes and for coming back here to greet me. I would love to know more about how 8th grade kids perceive their world. The take young adults have on our world and their personal space in it is a truly enchanting time to read about. Usually thirteen and on the brink of the most amazing changes in their life … it must be wonderful for you to share those feelings with them … and young adults can be so very enlightening 🙂

      Like

  10. christicorbett

    I’m so glad you’re back!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

