Am I Blue

without you?

Yes, I am.

That I haven’t visited my favorite blogs, don’t answer emails, hardly click “like” on Facebook, and have spent the last three weeks trying to find the time to do the last three chapters of my latest book.

Last week, I was so confused, I posted my Wednesday blog on Tuesday. Then on Thursday, I took it down because I didn’t feel like doing a trilogy or a duo or even this lame excuse for a post I am doing today.

I am truly blue … a nice periwinkle with shades of baby-blue and navy.

Mountains of Maxine

And so to save my sorry-self for the next few weeks leading up to and including my favorite time of year, I will post reruns

Posts some of you have never read, save Christi Corbett, who has been reading me from the beginning.

For those of you who haven’t heard from me lately, on and off the blog, I offer my sincere apology and ask for your indulgence and patience.

This Phoenix will rise again …

Wonky days …

Posted originally in 2010.

 It’s the middle of the week and you can see Friday peeking over the horizon, a bright ball of sun, exploding in your head. Almost there.

We are forever keeping time, looking ahead for what we would love to have, or looking back at something we forgot.

Time?

 My favorite definition of time is power. To have the power to use it, be consumed, deluged and surrounded with the time to do what is immediately gratifying.

The ability to mold and create one’s life with no worry of time running out. We are all born to die and what we do with the time we have between is all we leave behind.

Our real battles are fought against it. Will there be enough to realize our secret desires; fulfill our obligations; with some to spare to get the kids through college? Can we meet the demands of our days; find peace in our nights?

more maxine

We are surrounded with clichés like: She died before her time. Time flies. Before you know it, it’s gone. You’re young and you have plenty of time. Time heals all wounds. All the mysteries of life will be revealed … in time.

 Or an old favorite … Time waits for no one.

We may believe that in time, like fruit, we ripen on the vine of life; becoming sweeter; juicier.

Time allows the “ah ha” of it all to settle into our brains. Those were the good old days. We’ll never see that time come around again.

In my day life was easier, simpler, stricter; safer. We didn’t lock our doors and were never afraid to let our kids stay out all day and half the night. We didn’t live in a barbwired, gated, alarmed, concrete fortress; our children captives of mean time.

We rush, hustle, bustle and scramble hysterically through the years; didn’t have, couldn’t get; didn’t become something … in time.

No matter how we see it … we never have enough … do enough within the minutes we’re allotted … we will always look for the next swell of a hill … look around the next corner.

We move in our own time … until we run out of …

 Time to slip
Off the edge, with 

fOIS In The City

Maxine_Shoulder

15 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

15 responses to “Am I Blue

  1. We’re here for ya, Florence!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that’s going around, Florence. Know that you aren’t alone. You rest, give yourself a break. We’ll see your sunny self on the flip side.

    Seriously, hang in, Sweetie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Laura … I am a survivor and have no intention of letting this get me down for too long. Then again, you can see my sunny side on some of my re-runs.

      I will certainly hang in … I have great role models like you 🙂

      Like

  3. Just let it ride for the time being. As you said, “this phoenix will rise again.” Take care of yourself.
    ” My favorite definition of time is power.” — Now, it is my favorite definition of time, too. I’d never heard this before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lindsay, being a true vintage woman, it is not the first time I’ve had to rise out of the ashes. I will take care and leave some of my memorable posts to amuse you until I return in real time.

      Ah yes, time is certainly power and that was an original from me 🙂

      Like

  4. One sentence you wrote truly dug into me and I read it several times.
    “The ability to mold and create one’s life with no worry of time running out.”
    When I ponder that line, it would be wonderful if I stopped worrying about my age and how much time I most likely have left — two things that have bothered me for years. If I really in truly stopped thinking about “time running out” I’d definitely live differently but I’m not sure how. I have to think about this today. Thank you, Florence. I’ll always be around to read your posts.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are doing a great job, Patti … so don’t let the numbers get to you. As my mom used to say … each time you gain another number you’ve beat out death and that’s worth the journey.

      Time runs out when it is ready and the trick is to try and enjoy what we have while we have it 🙂 See you around blogville.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. vicki

    Oh my, Florence, hustle and bustle. I’ve been so busy lately and really don’t like it because I’m not prepared for any holiday. I’ve done most of my shopping on line and sometimes, that feels so impersonal. Just my sad state right now. I like reading you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Vicki … we can get tied down with hustle and bustle, can’t we? BTW I met someone recently who also calls her husband “handsome.” You are truly a wonderful blogger, writer and friend and I thank you for reading me.

      I’ll get back into returning the favor soon ’cause I have a weak spot for Handbag Monday 🙂

      In the mean time have fun with my re-runs !!

      Like

  6. Florence, I here you and posted on my last post that I’ll try to check in with blogging friends as time permits. I also gave a status update on Tom and the fact that my time and energy is more than 150% his and the paperwork I have to do over the next few months. Know I love you and always love your blogs. I like the truth behind this one. I don’t have to pretend to giggle and smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. christicorbett

    Florence,

    So many are here for you, blog or no blog, so just know that we all love you!!!

    Ahhh, back to the beginnings of our blogs, I still remember our phone chat when we were both trying to figure out how to navigate posting things online, and what all the buttons for the blog posts did. You’re a great friend and I sincerely hope you know that, and know that you can contact me about whatever, whenever you feel the need.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love you, Christi … from day one you have been my staunch supporter and our friendship has meant so much to me. We’ve come a long way baby and have a longer way to go.

      Let’s try to have one of our little chats soon. I cherish our friendship and am thrilled at your current success 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

